Bullet Points – A Three Month (?!) Update

It really wasn’t until a few weeks ago that I realized I hadn’t touched the blog since November – oops. I’m truthfully terrible at keeping up with things like this when the madness of a new semester takes over, when new opportunities and people come into my life at unexpected times… but I digress. Here we are.

Thus far, 2017 has been one hell of a ride. I feel like all I ever say these days when catching up with friends or reflecting to myself on the state of life is “man, it’s been a crazy couple of weeks.”  It’s true, things have been madness, but aren’t they always? As few know, I’ve been an avid journal keeper since the tender age of 12.  I like to think that it keeps me grounded, or at the very least gives me a good laugh every few years or so when looking back.  I do this every so often with my personal writing as well – things get hectic, and I forget to write down all of the great stuff for a few months and feel the need to recap when picking up where I left off. So, I bullet point it. It’s a bit of a lackluster way to keep track of things sometimes, especially when you’re as into keeping track of details as I am, but it does the job at this point.

Following are a few bullet points of things I’ve learned so far in 2017, to catch you (and myself) up on the happenings of my life in the past few months.  Enjoy the update, and watch for more from me soon.

  • There are very few moods that a blue sky can’t fix.cropped-hipsterlogogenerator_1468988491403.png
  • Timing might never be on our side – decide to fall madly in love with life anyway.
  • Don’t mistake optimism for denial. In other words, “it’s fine” doesn’t always mean it is – and that’s cool.
  • Try not to spend more time thinking – and worrying – about your work and studies than you do actually working. (I call it testing my work ethic under pressure. Scott calls it a serious procrastination problem.)
  • Sometimes leadership means swallowing your pride and saying you’re sorry – even if you don’t really feel like it.
  • There are so many people that won’t ever like you. It’s totally okay.
  •  If in nothing else, find purpose in feeling at home with yourself.
  • At the end of the day, life really is worth celebrating – even when things get messy.

Cheers,

Screen Shot 2016-08-16 at 7.35.21 PM

3 Comments

  1. Linda

    Brittani! You are a very good writer. It’s fun & good to reflect about life. You remind me of your Dad in some ways…with your pensive reflection! I do that as well. I should start writing more of it down, like you. We’re all proud of you, Britt…so far from home & making your way in studies at McGill.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

