Thankful

Gratitude is something that’s become a part of my everyday routine lately. It’s something that I make time for, usually morning or evening, despite how busy, grumpy, or exhausted I may be. I choose to see the miracles of my day to day life as a thousand times more meaningful than whatever is getting me down, and just like that, I’m able to see the joy in life. My dad has always reminded me to slow down, smell the roses, and enjoy the little moments and things that bring me joy.  This year, I think I’m most thankful for finally being able to do just that.

I was a little sad earlier today, and it surprised me. This marks the first thanksgivng ever that I’m not celebrating surrounded by family and friends, and as much as I know I needed to take this weekend off to rest and recharge, FaceTime with my family left me  a little teary eyed and wishing I had made bigger plans to be with friends today.  But instead of feeling lonely and worrisome about this phase in my life, I turned it around.  I went to the grocery store, bought some brie, wine, and a fresh baguette, and rushed home with a smile on my face. I found myself feeling incredibly mindful as I unlocked the door to my cozy little apartment,  lit my favourite fall candle, and turned on a playlist that reminds me of home.  I found myself overwhelmed with gratitude, not only for my health, my family, my sisters, and my home, but for my life. Here I am in this beautiful city, studying at an incredible school, with so much love surrounding me. I finally feel as though I am enjoying this time in my life to the extent I deserve. Choosing not to dwell on my anxieties and insecurities about who I am and what the future holds, I can focus on what is beautiful and worth celebrating right this second.

I am so overwhelmingly thankful for my family and friends this year, to everyone here and back home, thank you for taking this journey with me. I can’t tell you how much all of your support, in every aspect of my life, means to me.

I hope that everyone can take a few moments today to reflect on gratitude and count their blessings.  For the harvest, for your people, and for yourself, be thankful. Life is beautiful!

Screen Shot 2016-08-16 at 7.35.21 PM

Leave a Reply

